It’s Beginning…

by

To Look A Lot Like Christmas…at the mall. The Macy’s in Chesterfield has up their Christmas displays to tell help troubleshoot for other Macy’s stores. It was INSANE! I LOVED IT! My dad used to catch me listening to Christmas music in September when I was growing up. I can’t wait. Elle will be 19 months old on Christmas this year, it will be so exciting for her. Although, I’m sure I will lose my mind with keeping her away from the tree. Any tips from veteran parents on keeping toddlers away from the tree? I remember seeing a picture once of a Christmas tree placed inside a pack’n’play. I’m not sure I want to go to those drastic measures.

For those of you keeping up with my parents, they were in Cleveland this weekend so my dad could candidate for the Senior Pastor position. It went really really well. The church will vote next Sunday morning. People keep asking how I feel about them moving so far away. Honestly, it is kind of odd. I am really excited for them. They desperately need a fresh start, but aren’t the kids supposed to be the ones that move away? Joe’s mom has always said that she knows in her heart that Joe & I wouldn’t be in STL forever…but we are still here. And we are fine with that, but if they leave the only (biological) family that I will have left here is my uncle. WEIRD! Well, that isn’t completely true, my brother (Chris, 22) may be sticking around, he hasn’t decided to move with them or stay here yet. Anyway, aren’t parents supposed to stay in the town they raised their children in? Here is a picture of my parents this weekend on Lake Erie. The other picture is my brother Chris & his girlfriend Laura. lake-erie-001.JPG

lake-erie-004.JPG

3 Responses to “It’s Beginning…”

  1. Dad (aka: Ron) Says:

    The world is wierd, Kel. When I was EXACTLY YOUR AGE … my parents retired and moved away to Arkansas. That so hacked me off. They didn’t move for a job. They moved to put their feet up and do nuttin! If I were retirement age you could not pry me away from my kids. The thing that made me the maddest was that I was so proud of my kids I wanted their grandparents to be a part of their lives daily. I p-r-o-m-i-s-e that if God takes us to Cleveland you will wonder how we manage to show up so often. Next to God alone my family is #1 with me. Oh … and Hit ‘N Run “Hum Dingers.” 🙂

    I love you.
    Dad

  2. lyndy Says:

    Well, well, It seems as though everybody in St. Louis is blog-happy. However, they only want to talk about the ones that live there. No other family is sufficient to talk about. I am no longer in the lives of those, who once called me brother…son…nephew.
    Just playin’
    Love ya’!

  3. Kari Says:

    Hey Kelli,
    My folks moved 4 1/2 hours away when I had a two year old and a little one on the way. I was not too pleased but it has turned out to be a wonderful experience for my kids. Going to maw maw and paw paw’s is always an adventure. And my folks made their new home very kid inviting! Summers, long weekends, Thanksgiving, Christmas; great memories for them. Now that Rob is married, he can’t wait for his kids to have those same experiences.
    Yes, you will miss them, but not to worry – God always makes it work out great.

Leave a Reply

