More Working Mom…Less Stay At Home Mom

by

and I’m not quite sure how I feel about it yet. Beginning next week I will take on 10 more hours a week at work. Nice for the bank account, not so good for my time with Elle. I know this is an issue that nearly every mom faces, but that doesn’t make it any easier. Since Elle was 2 months old, I have been working 20 hours a week. Elle would spend 12 of those hours at her babysitters house & the rest of those hours she was able to be home with Joe (he has Friday’s off due to the evening/Sunday time he puts in at church). Now she will be at the babysitters 24 hours a week! We are so blessed to have a great sitter, but she isn’t mom. I keep telling myself that I still have 10 more hours a week with her than many working moms have with their kids.

I will be working Tuesday – Friday. At least I will have Monday’s off & will not work as late on Fridays. This is going to force me to use my time at home more wisely. Not as much time watching Project Runway reruns but more time cooking in advance and doing special activities with the kid. Speaking of cooking, I’ve been thinking about getting the new book by Jessica Seinfeld. It’s all about pureeing vegetables and including them in everyday, kid friendly foods. Interesting concept, but I’m not sure I am disciplined enough to do it. Also, I have been in the mood for baking. Not a mood that strikes very often, maybe it is because it is getting chilly outside. I’ve never made pumpkin bread, but I am feeling up to the challenge. Anyone have a tasty but relatively easy pumpkin bread recipe to share??

FRIENDS: Our friends Sarah Jane & Tim had their baby last night! Ella Jane was born at 9:30 and is 7 lbs 13 oz. We can’t wait to meet her. It is yet another Elle-ish name. Here are all of Elle’s little friends with very similar names: Eliot, Elli, & now Ella!! And we thought we were creative when we named her Elle. Also, check out the link (Nicole) to the left. My friend Nicole started blogging today…she is the mom of 3 boys and I’m sure she will have lots of hilarious stories to share!

3 Responses to “More Working Mom…Less Stay At Home Mom”

  1. diehl99 Says:

    I’m thinking of buying that cookbook for some friends for Christmas…I love the idea of hiding good food in stuff they already like (and will eat without complaining about it).

    Re: having less time at home. When I’m really organized (this has not happened since the birth of Jack Henry), I plan out our meals for the whole week on Sundays, and then just go to the store once (as opposed to several times a week to pick up what sounds good for dinner that night). I really wish I would have done this when I was working; it would have made our evenings go so much smoother. It seems so logical, but this idea completely escaped me until about a year ago…duh.

  2. Ron Says:

    You know, I read this and realized … my goodness … she really IS AN ADULT. With adult issues! Sometimes I trick myself into thinking you are just at the movies with friends or something. But nope, you got old. 🙂
    Dad

  3. lyndy Says:

    2 packets of quick rise yeast.
    4 cps of flour
    2 tbls of sugar.
    1.5 pumpkins
    3 tsp of vanilla
    2 pinches of cinnamon
    4 eggs

    Mix in bowl for 3 minutes. Pour in pan.
    bake at 400 degrees for about 24 minutes. 27 minutes at high altitude.
    Serve and ENJOY!!!

Leave a Reply

