Mariachi

by

Last weekend we were eating at a Mexican restaurant in Illinois with Tammy & Reda (Joe’s mom & step-dad). We were thinking it would be a nice relaxing meal…we were wrong. Seconds after being seated we look over to see a mariachi band prepping. I have never seen a mariachi band in real life…boy oh boy…was I missing out. They began by playing a song, I don’t remember what song it was, all that I remember was that it was incredibly loud. Elle was loving it. The song ended, we all clap and assume they were done for a while. Yeah, we were wrong. They proceeded to walk around to every table in the small restaurant and take requests! We heard this mariachi band play everything from “Jingle Bells” to “Margarita-Ville” to “Yesterday.” The entire time they are going table to table we are cracking up (and having to scream over them because it was so loud). Joe was wracking his brain trying to find the perfect song to request. Finally they get to our table and THEY ask if they can play the theme song to Barney for the baby. They circle our table and play “I love you, You love me…” with a mariachi beat. As they are serenading her Elle decides she is not longer finding this enjoyable. She wouldn’t look at any of the musicians, but she wanted to know what was going on so she would peer at them out of the corner of her eye. It was a classic moment that we will not soon forget.

Oprah’s Favorite Things show is on…gotta go!

4 Responses to “Mariachi”

  1. Ron Says:

    Oh for a picture of that moment! Elle, spying out of the corner of her eye! Your mom and I went out once for a “romantic” dinner. Never go Mexican for romantic. the Mariachi Band decided to set-up camp next to our table and NEVER left until we did. So much for stimulating conversation of whispering sweet nothings in each others ear!
    love you…
    dad

  2. diehl99 Says:

    ugh…I can’t believe I missed the favorite things show. I’ll have to watch for the rerun! I almost never watch her show, but that’s one I don’t want to miss!

    And about the mariachi band – one of my cousins had one at their wedding reception in New Mexico. Interesting entertainment.

  3. kellimcgill Says:

    Nicole: She gave away a $3500 fridge! It was insane, it had a tv on it & could give you the 5 day weather forcast.

  4. Nicole Says:

    I need a fridge that can give me the forecast! That’s going on my Christmas list for sure.

    We’d love to hook one of the boys up with Elle someday 😉

    I can’t believe Tiff got a comment from Dana…so cool! I have to try and catch her show on the radio this week.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

