No Sleeping Beauty Here

by

Elle seems to be going through a faze, at least I hope it is a faze. She has been such a wonderful sleeper since she was tiny, but suddenly she isn’t doing too well. Our biggest issue is napping. She has been in her bed for over an hour & I can still hear her talking! It is even taking her longer to fall asleep at night & sometimes she wakes up in the middle of the night too. Is it normal for kids to regress a little when it comes to sleep? Will she go back to “normal”? Is this due to our lifestyle change since I just started working more?Also, we went to a Christmas party with Joe’s Dad’s side of the family. It is an annual party for the volunteer fire department he serves with. Every year Santa comes to visit the kids…Elle was not a huge fan. She just sat there staring at him from our table, but would freak out if we asked to if she wanted to go see him. At one point she even grabbed the table because she thought I was going to take her over to him. Sounds like we won’t be visiting him at the mall this year (one less line for us to stand in).Β  I must say, he wasn’t a very convincing Santa.

7 Responses to “No Sleeping Beauty Here”

  1. Ron Says:

    Wonderful new picture!

    Is it “formal” for her to behave that way? (Your word, not mine!) Nope. Nothing “formal” about it. Is it “normal?” Kel, there is no such thing as “normal” when you are raising a child. As I have heard it said, “Normal is only a setting on the dryer.” That’s really true. Let’s just say that there is nothing ABnormal about it. Elle is who she is. I’m only a dad but I suggest you just hold to your schedule and let Elle be the one to do the adjusting. She’ll go to sleep when she’s ready. You are a tremendous mom and, as best I can tell, you aren’t doing anything wrong. Neither is Joe. She’s not traumatized or otherwise impaired. She’s just busy being … Elle. πŸ™‚ Let her. And enjoy it. The next kid will probably be totally different. So revel in who Elle is and then revel in whoever the next one is too.

    Love you forever … like you for always…
    dad

  2. diehl99 Says:

    Napping has always been an issue for Bennett, too. The last several months I’ve noticed that if he misses his nap one day, he’s much more likely to skip several (painful for mommy) days in a row. And then bedtime is rougher, too. Then, suddenly, he’ll nap again, and will for a few weeks without incident, and it’s not an issue. It just comes and goes, so yes, it’s as “normal” as you can expect. And, it’s one of the very few things that Elle has complete control over in her life, so she’s probably learning that this pushes your buttons πŸ™‚ I try my best to just not let him know how annoyed I am (though I am not very good at this).

  3. Bethany Says:

    Dear Kelli:

    Sometimes I stop by your blog and read up on Elle. She’s so adorable and clever– I think Enna will love being her friend πŸ™‚ I like the craft pics that you put up, and your funny stories have me in stitches. But the thing that really gets me are the posts from your dad. I read the one above, and it made me cry it was so sweet and genuine. So, like a sap, I click on his name– Aha! He has his own blog, I see! I have a few minutes, so I read some of his posts.
    Mistake.
    Huge mistake.

    Thirty minutes later, I’m both laughing AND sobbing, thinking about my own parents who live 985 miles away, and what a wonderful, delightful family you must have. I mean, you dad quotes Shakespeare (correctly!!) and writes love letters to his wife. How cool is he?!!
    So now I sit here, thirty minutes of grading tests NOT accomplished, with tears rolling down my face, smiling at a person I’ve never met. Next time I feel tempted to procrastinate by reading his blog, I’ll know to arm myself with a box of Kleenex!! He must be a great pastor. And an even better dad.
    Thanks for sharing him in cyberspace! πŸ™‚
    Bethany

  4. Tanya Says:

    Well, after 3 girls going through every stage written in just about every “how to raise your kid” book I thought I had the sleep thing all figured out. Then came along baby girl #4 and she threw off every bedtime theory I had. Brooke is 5 months old this week and she is up TWICE a night to eat. I’ve gotten past being exhausted and I actually look forward to our middle of the night hours together. With 3 other “mommies” in the house we don’t get much mommy daughter time alone and I know she will turn 5 before I can blink twice.
    Camryn is 3 and she told me last night that she could not go to sleep. I told her that she did not have to, but she did have to stay in her bed and not talk to her sister. She felt like she had power and in about 10 minutes she was asleep.
    Kids are so funny! Just roll with the punches, it sounds like you are a great mommy!

  5. Ron Says:

    For the record, Kelli. Of all of your friends … I like Bethany the best. Hi Bethany!

  6. kellimcgill Says:

    Ummm…Nicole has been pretty nice to you as well. Spread the love.

  7. Ron Says:

    Nicole ROCKS! (doing an impromptu “Nicole Dance” in Cleveland …

Leave a Reply

