Used Car Salesman

by

We are thinking about becoming a one car family. My Jeep will be paid off in August & Joe’s car still has a year and a half worth of payments. Plus, his car is pretty much worth as much as we owe…and is beginning to need some work. Rather than pumping money into it & making payments we want to get out from under it. Plus, it is a GT & is sucking gas. The thought of going from 2 car payment to none makes my heart leap. Making 2 car payments was a lot easier when we were renting a cheap apartment, had no baby, I worked full time, and lived 15 minutes from work/church.

The thought of only having one car sounds awful, but I keep reminding myself that Joe & I work at the same place. 90% of the time one of our cars is sitting in the driveway while we are at work with the other car. Our biggest issue is that Joe travels quite a bit with the band. The band has a wonderful van (when I say wonderful I mean, slightly less than wonderful) so he drives his car to Russ & Katie’s house & it sits there waiting for him to get back. Elle & I dropping Joe at their house would be easy enough, but many nights he doesn’t arrive at Russ & Katie’s until 2am (or later), making picking up difficult. Thus, we would be “stuck” at our house for the weekend because driving at 2am to pick him us is not an option. We still have some kinks to work out of the plan…but we haven’t sold the car yet.

Anyway, the whole purpose of this post is to ask for tips on selling cars yourself. Any of you out there done this before? If so what method did you find successful?

10 Responses to “Used Car Salesman”

  1. Nicole Says:

    We sold my old car a couple of years ago the old fashioned way…with an ad in the paper. We decided to try that first since it was pretty cheap, and then we were going to do Carsoup if that didn’t work, but we didn’t have to. We will be doing this again soon, as Matt will be buying a new car in the near future. So I’ll be curious as to what works for you if you do this!

  2. Ron Says:

    I suggest you find somebody with a lot of money who needs to buy a car and is willing to give you a ridiculous price for it. It has never worked out that way for me but I’d try it first.

    Wait! I just read Nicole’s post! She’s going to buy a new car soon. SELL HER YOURS!

  3. Jennifer Says:

    I wish we could be a 1 car household!

  4. heather Says:

    craigslist is awesome! and free!

    and if joe is coming in at 2 in the morning, couldn’t he maybe just crash on r&k’s couch until you and Elle get up in the morning?

  5. Amanda Mohr Says:

    I like Heather’s idea…Russ and Katie have 3 or 4 couches, a blow up mattress and a twin size mattress!!! El might even share his room!!!!

  6. kellimcgill Says:

    Heather: great idea…but most of those times would mean that we would have to pick him up at 6:30 on Sunday mornings due to the fact that we have to be at church so stink’n early. It is an option though.

  7. Ron Says:

    my idea is still the best.

  8. Scott Says:

    Don’t DO IT!!!!
    When Amanda’s car went down with a bad transmission we were a one car family for a month and a half…we never hated each other more…Ok “hated” may be a strong word. But it was really difficult, especially on me. But we do work in different places. But we don’t have a baby either…or a band.

  9. Nicole Says:

    Sorry, Ron, I am not the decision-maker for this car purchase! And it needs to be able to seat 5…including some carseats. I’m just guessing that Joe’s car might not meet this criteria. We do have a lovely Honda Civic for sale, though…

  10. hotomom Says:

    We’re a one car family and it’s not that bad. We make it work. I stay home with the kids full-time and JT works downtown so we take advantage of the metrolink ALOT!!! He also has friends at work that will bring him home.

Leave a Reply

