Girly Girl

by

Heather, my friends and co-worker, is always teasing me for not dressing Elle in a lot of pink. Honestly, when you look at her wardrobe there is a lot of pink…but it just isn’t girly pink. I’ve never been the mom that dresses her daughter like a frilly baby. Most of the time, the clothes that Elle wears could easily (disregarding size of course) double as my wardrobe. Because of the lack of frills and the unfortunate mullet head that she has, it isn’t uncommon for her to be referred to as a boy in public (actually on Monday we were at Chesterfield mall & she was called a boy twice even though she was wearing a brown t-shirt with pink flowers on it).

Anyway, Heather, this picture is for you. This is possibly the girliest that Elle has ever looked. My friend Lisa gave us this nightgown that her daughter, Cayleigh, had outgrown. Elle loves it. I could live without it. I’m not a fan on character clothing on kids, but I’ve always said that my compromise will be to allow character PJs.

10 Responses to “Girly Girl”

  1. Ron Says:

    Kelli. You wore “Winnie The Pooh” con-stant-ly. We took them away from you and you went and got them back from the goodwill store. (I believe that was the first time you hailed a cab.) Elle is gorgeous no matter what she wears. But ya really ought to stop calling her “mullet head.” She will read these blogs someday. You want her ruined for anything but Harley riding? 🙂

  2. Jan Says:

    She’s just adorable. And it is so much fun that Elle likes it. 🙂

  3. Heather Says:

    Adorable! The funny thing is, I give you a hard time, but I didn’t dress Kelsey very frilly as a baby, except on special occasions. She wasn’t “girly” until she started picking her own clothes. But I’m with you on the character clothes — except for Pooh. I like Pooh.

  4. Two Lines On a Stick Says:

    Well, I dress my baby “frilly” I guess… although now that she is a toddler more than a baby, I try to dress her more grown up, just girly. Little girly. But I am also not a fan of character clothes. She has some Disney Princess pjs and one Pooh dress, and I think that’s it. Thank goodness

  5. Scott Says:

    It could be worse…You could dress her like Joe or Uncle Chris.

  6. Tammy Says:

    I miss my “mullet head” in her character clothes…. Nay Nay will take her anyway she is….. she is beautiful…Hug her today for me….

  7. topher Says:

    if Walt Disney ever threw up a lil girl… It would look a lil bit like that

  8. neeser Says:

    A baby girl can be covered in pink with a gigantic bow in her hair and some people (i.e. usually old ladies) will still call her “him.” This happened to my girls so many times I can’t tell you.

  9. neeser Says:

    A baby girl can be covered in pink with a gigantic bow in her hair and some people (i.e. usually old ladies) will still call her “him.” This happened to my girls so many times I can’t tell you.

    And, is Chris trying to say that Elle looks like Disney barf?

  10. tiffykay Says:

    Oh Kelli, it is just the beginning! I sold out when Dad and Mel bought him a Cars shirt and he begged to wear it every day. I used to be adamently against any character stuff, but when it makes them soooo happy, it is hard to resist from time to time. My new policy: I will not purchase it, but I will let him wear it occasionally if someone else wants to.

Leave a Reply

