Air Travel Questions

by

I just booked some plane tickets for several months from now.  But I have a few questions that I thought I’d ask you all while it is on my mind.  This will be Elle’s first flight.  Anything that I should know??  I know that adults have to have a photo ID, do I need to have anything for Elle?  And then there is the great debate about car seats in airplanes.  What are you opinions and experiences?  

I’m pretty excited about our flight.  We got round trips tickets to Colorado for $140 (pre tax)!  Before I booked the tickets, I called Laura to make sure she was going to go through with marring my little brother 🙂

15 Responses to “Air Travel Questions”

  1. Jan Says:

    When my girls were little and we had to fly, we took the necessary car seats. If you are traveling by car or cab once you get to your destination, you’ll need that car seat anyway.

    I also bought some new small toy for each girl before the trip and didn’t give it to them until we got on the plane. It provided something new and fascinating for them to do on a long and otherwise boring flight.

  2. Nicole Says:

    We flew with the boys when Luke was 2 1/2 and Bennett 6 months. We didn’t take a carseat on the flight, and he was fine in his seat…we just rented a carseat from the rental car company when we got there.

    I like the small toy idea! Also, stuff to color on since there’s a tray in front of her, and some snacks, since you can’t rely on they will give you on the plane. Oh, and her favorite toy/lovey/whatever she sleeps with (since you don’t want to check that, anyway, in case it would get lost!).

    I don’t think you have to have any i.d. of any kind for a child, from what I remember.

  3. beingmade Says:

    I am the queen of travelling with children, believe me. 😉

    YMMV, but….

    You shouldn’t need any documentation for Elle unless she is a lap infant, and then you might want to have a birth certificate along to prove that she’s small enough.

    I always check the carseats and just let the kiddos sit in the airplane seats. I know it’s a great debate and I could get into a load of Mommyguilt and Court of Motherhood nonsense over it, but I truly see more people do it that way than the other anyway, and it’s MUCH easier for me especially when I’m alone with my little squirts.

    Hydrate lots–If you want to pack ahead they will allow milk, formula, and juice through in sippy cups, but not water. Otherwise bring a sippy cup/water container and fill it with bottled water once you get through the check in.

    Elle will have to take shoes/jacket off at security too. I HATE security, though I respect it. Make it easy to get her out of shoes and jacket. Any stroller you use will have to go through the x-ray machine too, so be prepared for that.

    I like to buy little presents for the girls and unwrap them at strategic points throughout the flight. These are NEW toys so they have that novelty element to them and it makes the time go faster.

    Carolyn has always really enjoyed drawing on a magna doodle on flights. Color Wonder stuff is also good.

    And pack LOTS of snacks. Carolyn seriously ate the entire way to from Washington to Houston one trip. Raisins–which, probably wasn’t great for her tummy, but it totally worked on the compliance factor. 😉

    Now that I’ve written a book in your comments, I will shut up. You’ll have fun.

  4. beingmade Says:

    Oh yeah. one more thing. Two words: Umbrella Stroller.

  5. Scott Says:

    rum and coke.

  6. mcgilla Says:

    take your cues from jon and kate

  7. anonymous Says:

    I say a little baby dramamine might not be a bad idea…. I hear benydryl works great!

  8. Ron Says:

    Dramamine washed down with Scott’s Rum and coke. With a Tylenol PM chaser. And be sure to get her a window seat. It’ll change her life. (and you’ll have to change her diapers.)

  9. Two Lines On a Stick Says:

    I vote on no carseat. It would be a pain! Plus, honestly I don’t think she would need a carseat just for turbulence. And, well, if the plane crashes you’re all pretty much screwed. How do you like my cheery analysis? LOL I am glad you got such a good deal on your tickets, though. I haven’t flown with Bailey yet so you’ll have to let me know how it goes!

  10. Bethany Says:

    What fun! I fly often with Enna, seeing as my parents are out of state, and she’s still free (under two). We’ve flown about a dozen times, and twice in the last 6 weeks. You can pray that she naps the whole way (God is smiling on you). Or, you can take lots of distractions (b/c even if God is smiling, you can’t control the nap thing).

    I like stickers. Lots of stickers. They are small, lightweight, and easy to tote. Remember that you have to carry all this stuff through the airport, like a mini mountain-hiker, so pack light weight things. Novelty snacks are a godsend, but the more sugar you put in, the more hyper she gets in the seat 🙂

    The airline will either require that you check a carseat as one of your two pieces of luggage (one suitcase for all our stuff?!!) or, carry it to the gate yourself and check it there as a carryon. (tough!) I would never bother with strapping my child in to the plane seat. I agree with Tara: if you’re going down, you’re going down. 🙂
    If you’re meeting someone you know on the other end of the flight, have them purchase (or online purchase and have it shipped to their house) one of those wal-mart $40 Costco carseats. That way you don’t have to lug that thing through the airport, yet it’s still waiting for you when you arrive. It’s up to you what you do with it on the return trip. You can either take it home with you as an extra, or (shhhhhhhh) return it to wal-mart after you use it a few days. Their satisfaction policy will allow this. Don’t tell Wal-mart I wrote that 🙂

    I always take a copy of Enna’s birth certif, just in case, but I’ve never been asked for it.
    Good luck!! 🙂

  11. Kris West Says:

    Hi Kelli,
    I would think about taking Elle’s carseat if you think she would be more comfortable. Also, do you think she would stay in the airplane seat strapped in the whole time? Do you want to hold her the whole time? Sometimes, it’s better to take the carseat because they know they have to be buckled in and can’t climb out just like in the car. I agree with the snacks, new toys, coloring books, etc. You will definitely want to have some fun new things for her to play with to keep her distracted. As far as the juice, milk, go to http://www.tsa.gov/travelers/index.shtm and it will give you all the rules/regulations. There is also a section for traveling with kids. If you have any other questions, email me at wildwest68@aol.com and I’ll be happy to answer them. I think your next trip should be to Phoenix.

    P.S. Hopefully, you are flying Southwest! 😉

  12. kellimcgill Says:

    You guys are all so smart! I’m sure I’ll need to be reminded of all these things when October gets closer.

  13. kellimcgill Says:

    Kris! Why didn’t I think of just going straight to “the source” (that’s you, “the source”). Rest assured, we are flying Southwest. We love us some “DING” 🙂 Thanks for all the great info. Actually, I am thinking that Elle might really love being strapped into a regular seatbelt. We’d love to see you next time you’re in STL!

  14. Sarah Jane Says:

    Ella and I are taking our first flight next week so I’ll let you know how it goes!

  15. tiffykay Says:

    We just flew with Logan. First of all, if you bought her a ticket, she gets two checked items herself. That takes care of the carseat/luggage issue. I watched a girl take the seat on the place and it was extremely cramped for the whole row. Not worth it. I actually called the airline about this before we left and Southwest doesn’t recommend it. Second, TALK IT UP like it is the absolute coolest thing anyone could ever do. She will pick up your enthusiasm and won’t even notice that her ears are popping. Give her gummy worms on take-off and landing to help her ears equalize, and bring the protable DVD player. Also, get your boarding passes online a few DAYS early to get priority boarding order. Southwest also let Logan go into the cockpit to meet the pilot! (I was completely shocked post 9/11!) The whole experience was more like Disney World to him than the scary, calustrophobic, fetal position expereince that we adults have. Bonus: The flight was less than 2 hours, so as soon as you stop accending, you start decending. More like a carnival ride really.

Leave a Reply

