Big Girl Bed

by

It was a spur of the moment decision, but we knew that we had to do it quickly or we would chicken out. Today Elle graduated to a big girl bed. Ok, so it isn’t technically a BIG bed. Her crib is a transitional bed that goes from crib, to toddler bed, to full size.

After she woke up from her nap in her crib, Joe mentioned that we need to move her to the big bed soon & said we could do it today. I said, “Ok, but do it now before I change my mind.” She was so excited about it all evening. At bed time, we put her up in the bed, kissed her, and walked out. Normally, we would hear her singing to herself for about 15 minutes…tonight, not a peep. Not a single cry. Not a rustled of blankets. Right to sleep, just like a big girl. We’ll see how long this lasts. The real test will be nap time (which won’t happen until Friday because I am working tomorrow so she’ll be at her sitters M-Th).

Bye, bye crib… (ok, I must admit…I teared up a bit when we said bye to the crib)

One last picture…

Testing it out…

Pure Joy.

10 Responses to “Big Girl Bed”

  1. Ron Says:

    I remember this exact day in your life, Kelli. Wow. Full circle. I feel … old! πŸ™‚

    GO ELLE!

  2. neeser Says:

    Oh, Kelli. I know exactly what you’re going through. With G, I was happy to get rid of the crib, but with L I’ve been putting this off for as long as possible because I’m pretty sure it’s the last time we’ll have a crib in our home. Probably until one of my girls brings home a baby of her own (for a visit).

    If it makes you feel any better, I get sentimental about these things too. When we sold the high chair, exer-saucer and baby bathtub at our last garage sale, my husband wisely did not consult me about it. He just said we’d buy another if we ever needed it. He was smart not to let me ponder it, and there was a lady standing in front of me with cash in hand, ready to buy the high chair, so I wasn’t going to try to talk him out of it. Plus the promise of buying *all new stuff* if it was ever needed was all I needed to hear anyway.

    One thing I try to remind myself at those “big girl bed” moments is just how happy and proud it makes the kiddos feel to see that they’re growing. It feels like an accomplishment to them… and it is!

  3. Jan Says:

    WOW! You can just see how special and BIG she feels by the look on her face! πŸ˜€

  4. Jan Says:

    I will say that my one concern would be her rolling out of bed. When our girls transitioned to big girl beds, there were guard rails to prevent them rolling off the side. And the one and only time I forget to put a rail up, Rebecca rolled out and hit the floor. 😐

  5. Scott Says:

    does she have a pillow now too?
    Wow, she is a big girl. Amanda won’t even let me have a pillow.

  6. Kari Says:

    I love the order of the pix! Looks like she is saying one last good-bye, then “let’s get on with this big-girl stuff!” The last one looks like she’s thinking, “FREEDOM!!!” Savor every moment and milestone, Kelli.

  7. hotomom Says:

    Man, I really wish my crib did that. I am so ready for my 2.5 year old to just graduate to a big bed but I have to buy one. That’s so awesome!!

  8. Ron Says:

    Scott, I’m 52 and I don’t have my own pillow yet. I just roll up yesterday’s underwear ….

  9. jimbarnard Says:

    i remember when i graduated to my big girl bed… frankfurters only cost a nickle.

  10. mcgilla Says:

    this is the cutest ever… soon you’ll get pee pants in the middle of you and joe…. yippee!

Leave a Reply

