Embracing My Inner Pasty

by

So, my entire life I have had “issue” with my skin. I don’t break out a lot, I don’t have oily skin, my issue is more of a lack of color issue. Let’s just face it, I’m pasty. In the past I have spent a little time in a tanning bed (I was by no means a crazy tanner). I was known to go entire summers without letting my legs see the light of day, shorts and skirts were not part of the wardrobe. Last year I did quite a bit of mystic tanning.

This year…I am older…I am wiser (kinda)…I am embracing the pastiness. It has taken me quite a while to get to this point. You see, I’m really white. Once someone mistook my pale legs for legs wearing tights.

I think that I’m just finally getting a little more comfortable with my body, and it’s about time. Sure, I still a few dozen other body image “issues”, but I’m going to make the most of this baby step. I’m going to wear bermuda shorts, cute dresses, and maybe a skirt or two (maybe…I’m not really a skirt girl). So what, I have fair skin! Tanned skin is soooo last year.

Feel free to air out your “issues” here…it feels good!

Oh! And a friend and frequent commenter on my blog FINALLY started her own blog yesterday. Yay, Jan!

13 Responses to “Embracing My Inner Pasty”

  1. Ron Says:

    I remember when you were a small child we had white sheets on your bed and we often could not find you in the morning. You just blended in. And so we started putting black sheets on your bed. Then the neighbors complained that your brightness was keeping them awake at night. It was a hard season of life for you. 🙂
    Dad

  2. kellimcgill Says:

    thanks dad, i really appreciate this comment. it really helps me in continuing to feel good about my self. (j/k).

  3. jmlange13 Says:

    Pale is good! Stay away from those tanning beds! Your skin will stay healthy and youthful long after the tanning folks are turning leathery in their old age.

    There is a lady that works at one of the nearby Schnucks stores. She appears to be HEAVY into the mystic tan. Frankly, she is…. orange! And since her hair is dyed very blonde it makes her skin look even more orange.

    And I have to add that your dad’s comment had me laughing out loud. 😀 He really never stops, does he? 😀

  4. Ron Says:

    Well. The truth is that you were the most beautiful child I had ever seen. I could not take my eyes off of you. To this day I look and you and wonder … how did God use us to make … her?

    You are God’s gift to me. And to your mom.

    Happy early mother’s day, Kelli!

  5. Scott Says:

    write a different blog…I didn’t like this one.

  6. kellimcgill Says:

    Scott, do you think this blog is here solely for your entertainment???

  7. Nicole Says:

    laughing at scott and your dad’s comments!

    I, too, am pasty white. And that’s OK with me. For now. Until my cute friends start showing up with tan skin and cute dresses. But this year, I truly am fine with the fact that my skin is see-through. And the mystic tan, in moderation, can be my friend.

  8. kristi Says:

    i don’t let people make fun of my white legs…. i just say… yeah well i’m a white girl… they’re supposed to be that color… move on. GOOD FOR YOU!

  9. Scott Says:

    yes.

  10. Ron Says:

    Scott. Go to your room.

  11. Scott Says:

    again? sorry.

  12. Bethany Says:

    PASTY WOMEN OF THE WORLD UNITE!!

    I prefer to think of this glow-in-the-dark quality as “luminescence.” Or maybe even “phosphorescence.”

    I must foolishly admit that I am not as mature as you about it though. I still attempt multiple rub-on tanners every summer, and I lie to myself that those brown streaks around my ankles do NOT look like a skin disease. Far from it. They are complimentary cheetah stripes that maximize the movement structure of my ankle bones.

    Or, I just wear lots of white. This causes people to mistake me for a) Emily Dickinson, or b) Casper. This is the closest I will get to being a celebrity, so I’ll take it. Pastiness is IN, I tell you.

  13. Kris Says:

    Try having white legs in Phoenix, Arizona, which is fittingly called the Valley of the Sun. It is also where you HAVE to wear shorts, capris, or skirts unless you want to melt. There are no white legs allowed in PHX.

    Personally, I love the Jergens tanning lotions. They are very easy to apply and you don’t get the streaks that you get with some other lotions. It may take a few days to get the color you want, but it’s so worth it. So much healthier too than going to the tanning bed.

    P.S. I must confess that I do lay out by the pool once in awhile. Old habits die hard.

Leave a Reply

