Odds & Ends

by
  • Joe & Elle went Mother’s Day shopping for me today. They came home with a gift & an bouqet of beautiful flowers. Obviously I have already been given the flowers, but right now the present is sitting on the kitchen counter taunting me. “Open me, I’m for you, you need me” Joe is out of town with a show near KC tonight…making the present taunt me even more…he’d never know if I peek. I’m going to be strong. To peak my interest even more, Elle picked out the gift. Joe said it was all her idea.
  • Elle’s been a superstar when it comes to her big girl bed. Last night was the first time all week she got out of the bed. How do we know? Well, she can easily get out of bed but can’t get herself back. Last night I went to open her door as I was heading to bed & she was asleep on the floor in her room. Surprisingly enough, she hadn’t gotten any toys or books out. Joe scooped her up & put her in bed.
  • Elle’s birthday is later this month. I have done zero planning. Last year I made adorable invitations by hand. They year, she’ll be lucky if her guests aren’t invited via telephone. The plan is to make do a test run on her cake tonight. I’m going to try to make a fondant icing. I’m nervous.
  • Speaking of food, I’ve been obsessed with Food Network lately. Has this made me want to cook more? Nope, not one bit.
8 Responses to “Odds & Ends”

  1. Ron Says:

    First comment! SCORE!

    I fall out of bed sometimes too. But I just lay there, seldom getting scooped up. It comes with age.

    And Kelli … you KNOW you peeked at that gift! Admit it!

  2. Nicole Says:

    i’m dying to know what elle picked for you πŸ™‚

    also, if you want a cute invitation idea, let me know…it involves no making them on your own (as i also did for luke’s first bday) but they are adorable.

  3. kellimcgill Says:

    I didn’t peek..actually, that’s why I blogged it…I knew if I didn’t write it in public then I would peek. But seriously, does Joe hate me? Why didn’t he put it in his car & take it with him??? Torture!

  4. Ron Says:

    I’d like to say “it’s a guy thing.” you know. LIke he wanted you to see it on the table and know all evening that it reminds you of his love for you. Nice theory. But the truth is … he’s like me and probably has no idea that he left it on the counter. We don’t usually think that deeply.

  5. jmlange13 Says:

    I think it’s awesome that Joe took Elle shopping for you. TOO CUTE!!

    You didn’t by chance get a picture of Elle sleeping on her bedroom floor, did you? πŸ˜€

  6. mcgilla Says:

    don’t feel bad… i’ve had a new cookbook which a real all the time for about 6 weeks… i haven’t made anything out of it yet…. can’t wait for the bday party!

  7. Tiffany Says:

    How could you have NOT told us what this gift is by now? Don’t leave us hanging!

  8. jimbarnard Says:

    I sleep on the floor just about every night because I can’t get back in it either.
    stupid bed lifts.

Leave a Reply

