Kelli vs Martha – Match 1

by

I am soooo ahead of the trends. In fact you may say that I am a trend setter. While in the grocery store yesterday I noticed that the latest issue of Martha Stewart Living has a beehive cake on the cover. Yep, I’ve been planning that cake idea for months now. I wonder if Martha has people reading my blog to get ideas?

This is Martha’s cake…mine will look nothing like this. She got it all wrong. Mine will be unveiled next week.

As you all know, Joe travels a lot. With him being gone, & Elle’s 8:00 bedtime I often find myself with a lot of time to waste in the evenings. Lately I have been a huge fan of Food Network and HGTV. I’m addicted but never really used any of the things that I saw. Until last weekend.

The very first piece of furniture that we bought together was our dinning room table and chairs. I love them, they were floor models at Pier 1 that they needed to clear out so we got a really good deal on it. That poor table has taken a beating. It has been moved 3 times in the past 5 years, been victim to countless key hastily dropped on it, bags of groceries plopped in a mad rush, and is scrubbed daily thanks to a messy toddler grazing on it. Quite a few scratches and nics were beginning to take a toll.

Last weekend I saw this on HGTV. I rushed right out to the Home Depot to buy my very own stain marker & fix my beloved table. It actually worked really, really well. Some of you older smarter readers may be thinking, stain markers have been around forever where have you been. It got me really excited and feeling like I saved my table, so leave me alone.

Man, I’m turning until a…grown up…

10 Responses to “Kelli vs Martha – Match 1”

  1. Ron Says:

    yep. all grown up. but martha’s been to prison. as far as i know she’s still one up on you in that category. but then … now that im in cleveland … how do i know you aren’t blogging from your cell?

  2. Ron Says:

    FIRST and SECOND comment! take THAT Nicole!

  3. Nicole Says:

    Ron, I was just picking my kid up from preschool…give me a break 😉

    Glad to hear that stain marker worked well. Our new bathroom medicine cabinet has a spot from the factory where it isn’t stained, but we just wanted to get it hung up, so we didn’t take it back. I’ll have to get one!

    Can’t wait to see Elle’s cake. You are SOOOO trendy.

    6.5 hours until pedicures…You’d think I’d never had one as excited as I am to get out of the house.

  4. jmlange13 Says:

    You are awesome! New tables = expensive. Stain markers = cheap! Result = Kelly > Martha any ol’ day!

  5. Jennifer Says:

    We have a stain marker that we use a lot. We always seem to find good deals on furniture by buying their clearance floor sample furniture, and then “painting” the bare spots with the furniture markers. We’ve done this with furniture from Linens N Things and World Market. Love it!

  6. Ron Says:

    Sorry, Nicole. I took you OUT! “Breaks” are for the weak! Bwa ha ha…..

  7. Scott Says:

    stain marker? That was my nickname in high school.

  8. Sara Says:

    I made that cake for my daughters 1st birthday. Bought the mold from Sonoma Williams. Was a LOT smaller then I thought. But tasty.

  9. SJ Says:

    I think the beehive cake is incredibly cute. By the way, I don’t know if Tim told you or not but we can’t come to the CD party b/c we’ll be in Arkansas. I’m so upset! I know it’s gonna be great though! I also can’t believe you’re child is going to be 2!

  10. Ron Says:

    Hey Scott. You wanna talk about “stain makers?” Tim Drury. ’nuff said!

Leave a Reply

