Man Voice

by

Joe is currently obessed with this this new song by Hillary McRea. I think it is a good song…but I’m having trouble getting over something. Watch the video & I’ll tell you what bothers me about it.

Great song right? Well, I thought so too until I learned that it was a girl singing. On the radio it was great. Saw the video & I’m weired out by the fact she’s a girl. I close my eyes & I love the song…I see the video & it feels odd to me. Agree?

Honestly, I probably don’t have too much room to talk. I don’t exactly have a girly voice. I will never for get being in 8th grade & my science teacher telling me that I have a HUSKY voice.

13 Responses to “Man Voice”

  1. hotomom Says:

    I would have to agree with you. I had my husband guess by listening and he said it sounded like a guy singing. The video almost seems like her voice is being dubbed.

  2. Scott Says:

    Ug!

  3. Tiffany Says:

    really? i think her voice is deep, but i don’t think she sounds like a guy….

  4. jmlange13 Says:

    Here’s an article that talks some about her voice:

    http://www.edgeboston.com/index.php?ch=entertainment&sc=music&sc2=reviews&sc3=cd&id=74663

    “Every Day (When Will You Be Mine?) is the lead song on the album, and probably the most catchy. It’s an infectious, upbeat mix of pop, folk and rock. McRae’s voice takes some getting used to. She has a deep voice, similar to Joss Stone’s. It verges on masculine to the point that when she starts the chorus on some songs, it almost sounds like she’s singing a duet with a male singer. Looking at her, you wouldn’t expect her to have such a strong, emotive and soulful voice…”

    I agree with you. Without knowing better, I would surely imagine a guy singing that. She’s got that Kathleen Turner voice thing going.

  5. Nicole Says:

    It’s definitely masculine, especially in the chorus like Jan’s comment mentioned. But I do like the song!

  6. Ron Says:

    Mom thought about naming you “Bob” because of your voice but I insisted it would be rude.

  7. mcgilla Says:

    i’m pretty sure she’s a tranny

  8. joe Says:

    i definitely won’t dispute the man-voice on that tune, but DANG that’s a great song.

  9. Tanya Says:

    Creepy, good song but wayyy creepy!

  10. jmlange13 Says:

    You can hear her speaking voice in this interview clip. It makes her singing voice make more sense when you know she speaks in that same octave.

  11. Denise Says:

    I admit, I was thinking the same thing mcgilla posted.

  12. Tammy Says:

    great song… love the music… but yup, close your eyes?….. it’s a guy….

  13. Busted « Kellogues Says:

    […] Busted Wednesday, June 4, 2008, 3:14 pm Filed under: Uncategorized Ok, so yesterday Joe stole my idea on the FE website to write about Hillary McRea. ONLY…Hillary’s bass player read the […]

Leave a Reply

