Reality Check

by

So, I just walked in the door at home…but I left work at 1 (it’s now a little after 4). Nope, I didn’t have several stops on my way home. Nope, my car didn’t break down. I sat in traffic for 3 hours. They closed the bridge I needed to cross due to a tractor trailer jackknifing and hitting other cars on the bridge. I was less than 2 miles behind the accident when it happened. Anyway, it caused huge disasters on many STL roads. In fact the police directed us all to do a U-turn on the interstate.

I tried to not get too crabby about sitting there…but when I got home and saw here was really happened it put things into perspective. My sitting for 3 hours was nothing, I could have left work 1.5 minutes earlier & had a horrible situation on my hands. A good little reminder that life is fragile.

4 Responses to “Reality Check”

  1. Ron Says:

    That is SO SCARY. You father (that’s me) is so grateful fo your FATHER (that’s God) for your protection. This is why I pray for you (and a truck load of others) every day.

    Thank you, Abba.

  2. heather Says:

    Ryan was stuck in that too today… he and his carpoolers were stuck just before Boone’s Crossing for about 15 minutes at a standstill before he called me to have me find out what was going on. From there it took them over two hours to get home. When he called me at 1:30 to say he was on his way home, I was pshyched… an early start to the holiday weekend. When he still wasn’t home by 4, I too was trying to keep my thinking in check. I found myself saying, what if they’d only left a llittle sooner, they would have missed it… but then again if they’d been just a little earlier, they may have been in the wrong spot at the wrong time, so I’m just thankful he (and you!) were stuck in the miserable traffic and not on the bridge or near the trucks when it happened.

  3. Lerryn Says:

    Wow, and you didn’t mention how badly you wished you had “gone” before you left work! I’m proud. You made a beeline. šŸ™‚ Nice of me to let everyone know too, isn’t it?

  4. Nicole Says:

    glad you’re OK šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

