Potty-Mouth Mama

by

This morning Elle & I had to run in to Target to pick up a few items. As we were walking down one aisle there was another mom (quite a bit older than I am) with 2 kids. The kids were around 4 & 7ish. The mom kept sneezing & after each sneeze she said “sh*#” rather loudly. This probably happened 4 times & each time she said that word. I knew exactly what was going to happen & sure enough, a second later Elle was whispering that word under her breath. At that point, what do I do…

A. Repremand Elle right there & tell her we don’t say that word. Thus creating an awkward situation & possible confrontation with this other mom.

B. Ignore the word came out of Elle’s mouth completely & pray it is miraculously erased from her memory.

I opted for B. So far God has answered my prayer 🙂

But this leads me to a bigger question. Even if you use those words on a regular basis, I assume you wouldn’t use them in front of your kids. right? Elle has used the word “idiot” several times lately & I want to scream every time it comes out of her mouth (we have figured out that she learned that word from “101 Dalmatians“). When parents talk like that around their children I hope understand that why their kids have a lack of respect & crude attitudes.

Ok, I’m off my soapbox now. Sorry, I needed to get that off my chest.

7 Responses to “Potty-Mouth Mama”

  1. Nicole Says:

    I’ve done both A and B. A when I was really frustrated, and B when I thought whatever was being said would just not be repeated.

    It’s so annoying that you can’t even take your kids to Target without some other loser parent potentially corrupting them.

    BTW, who says “sh*t” every time they sneeze? I mean, c’mon.

  2. jmlange13 Says:

    Tough call! Yikes, some parents just don’t get it do they?

    I’d say to leave it be until a later time if/when Elle says it again. Then address it.

    Your Elle is SO SMART that she’ll probably retain it and practice it later but you can correct the behavior then.

    Just my 2 cents…

  3. Tiffany Says:

    You know, I wish people in general society would think about that. I have actually said something to people in the area before! The Army has quite a few um…sailors….

    You need to go read Kelli Stuart’s blog though. Sloan is saying much worse and Cooper did the same thing in the nursery at church on a regular basis.

    Just part of learning language! There are some things we just don’t say. I’d say don’t make too big of a deal about it and if it is a problem casually remind Elle that mommy and daddy don’t talk like that and tell her why!

  4. potty mouthed kids « Mcgilla’s Weblog Says:

    […] 2008 My SIL Kelli was talking about a mom saying dirty words at the store…. you can read it here. And it reminded me of something that happened at the Y today.  We were leaving the park and i was […]

  5. Ron Says:

    You are going to lose on this one, Kel. She’s destined to say it. They don’t forget. You are a great mom so just correct it, loveingly but firmly, and it’ll be okay. She has a great heart and is simply trying to figure out what things mean. And she already wants to be like an adult. That’s called … normal.

  6. Earth Muffin Says:

    I’m guilty of using those words…I need a verbal outlet sometimes given what I do for a living! (Ask your mom!) However, I do censor myself in front of the boys. Colby does NOT…well, he thinks he does but her really doesn’t. I’ve told him in no uncertain terms that the first time a principal calls to tell us that either child has cussed at school I’m deferring them to him!

  7. Denise Says:

    Ehh, yeeah… I’m guilty of saying this one, too. Not on a daily basis but when something really unexpected or frustrating happens. Grace was 4 the first time she heard me say it and decided to repeat it. Libby was 2. Both times I stopped what I was doing and explained to the girls that I should not have used that word, that I was scared/frustrated/angry for a second and wasn’t thinking about what I was saying, and that they shouldn’t use those words, either. They’re not nice words for little girls or grown ups to say. Then I’ve just dropped it, and it has worked so far… luckily.

    However, I’m pretty certain Libby will be the first to use it again because 1. it’s harder to get that message through to a 2 year old anyway, and 2. when she repeated the word, it diffused a tense situation so quickly that it was funny to me, and I had to stifle my giggles while I gave her the talk. I did my best to use my firm, mommy voice, but I think she sensed my amusement anyway. I guess I’m only human.

Leave a Reply

