Mystery Smell

by

Before a child entered our family, I kept a very tidy car.  Emptied it of everything each time we returned home.  Vaccuumed it multiple times a month.  Well, Elle entered the sererio and all of that went out the window.

We get home from somewhere & I think, “oh, I’ll grab that in a minute after I get Elle inside.”  And you know it’s days before that stuff makes it into the house.   I’m lucky if we vacuum it once every 3 months.  There are toys on the floor board, extra jackets on the seats, empty sippy cups strewn about, and old junk mailers in the back.  That is all without mentioning the old french fries that are forever stuck between seats.

Yesterday we hopped into the car to discover a lovely mystery smell.  Ahhhh…it’s nice.  I can’t find the source ANYWHERE.  There isn’t an old sippy cup to be found.  But it is strong enought that I want to drive with the windows down…and I am not one to enjoy the wind messing up my hair.  Looks like tonight we will be giving the ol’ girl a scrub down.

11 Responses to “Mystery Smell”

  1. Nicole Says:

    i’ll be curious to know what you find, if you do. one time we seriously couldn’t locate the odor…and it just went away after a few days. febreze is magic.

    just last night i was thinking how my car always used to be so neat and clean, and now, it’s not trashed, but there’s just so much more STUFF in there. oh well.

  2. Ron Says:

    Seems like I remember a certain daughter smelling up a car of mine once. It was so bad that State Farm agreed to pay to have the car detailed. Anybody remember that? Anybody? Anybody? 🙂

    Whatever you do, do NOT go with the ultra-powerful Strawberry scented odor hider. It just makes the crap smell like Strawberry crap.

    Now for the real question. When you say “Looks like tonight we will be giving the ol’ girl a scrub down” … are you referring to the car … or to Elle?

  3. Julie Says:

    What about while on a road trip you go to change your daughters diaper in the back seat, only to have her poop some more while the diaper is off, and the poop is still watery so there is no stopping it from running in between the seats where you can not reach it?

  4. myhereandnow Says:

    Uh, ya. This has happened to us numerous times. It is so gross. Sometimes it’s a sippy cup with just a little rotting milk in the bottom. Just chuck those. The worst however was a half eaten carton of yogurt tucked in the side compartment of our van by the back seat. It had only been there a few days, but it was warm outside. When we found it–oh man, it just about made me lose my cookies by looking at it. I’ll be praying you find that stinch soon!

  5. Denise Says:

    My advice is to make sure you put on dish gloves before you go reaching between the seats for things that are smelled but cannot be seen. Trust me.

  6. Scott Says:

    when I got to my office today there too was a mystery smell.
    It took me about 5 minutes to discover someone had taped a urinal cake to the bottom of my chair. True Story!

  7. kellimcgill Says:

    scott…you’re office sounds like a fun place to work. are you guys hiring???

  8. Denise Says:

    Scott… maybe they were trying to tell you something about your chair???

  9. jmlange13 Says:

    Would you believe I had to come here to check for an update because I’ve just got to know what was causing that smell?? 😀

  10. kellimcgill Says:

    Smell Update (for Jan):

    I’m not sure what did it…but we found the source of the odor in a little toy bin that we keep in the car. It has been removed & I sitting in our garage until I work up the courage to scrub it with bleach…or throw it away! It’s nasty.

  11. jim barnard Says:

    you should drive rental cars everyday… mystery smells have become my only pleasure.

Leave a Reply

