7 Years Later

by

It may be a first for me…I’m blogging on a Sunday morning when we are supposed to be a church. Miss Elle has a nasty cough & was running a fever yesterday. Plus, add a crabby attitude to the mix. Let’s just say it isn’t pretty.

But let’s not talk about today. Let’s talk about yesterday. Yesterday morning Jim & Alisha requested a morning with Elle. Well, Joe & I aren’t ones to deprive anyone from quality Elle time so we sacrificed our morning & passed her off to them (yes, that is a bit of sarcasm). In our lonely depressed haze, Joe suggested that I probably needed to help him select one of my Christmas gifts. He didn’t tell me where we were going but I knew what he was up to the moment he pulled into the parking lot at the jewelry shop.

When Joe bought my engagement ring (nearly 7 years ago!) we had to have a wedding band made to fit it. Well…we kinda got screwed over. The guys who owned the shop we bought it at was having his jewler make us a custom shadow band. Nothing fancy, just a thin band that lays nicely against my ring. It wasn’t pretty. The shop owner wasn’t happy with it either. He had him remake it…still not good. Anyway, long story short the two of them fought about it for weeks & we still ended up with a wedding band that was far from perfect but at that point we HAD to have the ring for the ceremony. For years Joe & I have talked about getting a new band but you know how it goes. There is always a better way to spend money, you know like new brakes for the car or the gas bill.

Anyway, so when we pulled into the parking lot I got pretty excited. The first jeweler wasn’t too much help. In fact, it was almost as if they didn’t want to mess with unique shape of my engagement ring so they quoted us an insane number for doing a little bit of work to a plain white gold band. So we ended up going to another jeweler across the street & having a great experience. Now I get to pick my new wedding band tomorrow. Plus, Joe & I had a great time. We just enjoyed the time together where we were out alone…and not at a band gig. On the way home I said that we should do this more often. Joe quickly reminded me that every time we go out we can’t go to the jewelery store.

4 Responses to “7 Years Later”

  1. Ron Says:

    What a wonderful story about a wonderful couple. Have I told you lately how proud I am of you guys? Well … I am.

    Love you guys…

  2. Nicole Says:

    hooray for you! you were just telling me this story not too long ago. can’t wait to see the new ring!

    bummer about elle. hope she’s feeling better after a bit of R&R today at home.

  3. Linda Says:

    I can’t wait to see the picture!

  4. jmlange13 Says:

    Well you were very missed this morning at church. Elle too! Rebecca was so sad to hear that Elle was sick.

    What a fun and thoughtful surprise for Joe to do for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

