Car Wash Fiasco

by

Why do I always wait until the last week possible to start the process of renewing our license plates? Ugh. It is the most dreaded task of the year (well, every other year I guess). Here in Missouri you can purchase a 2 year sticker (which is fabulous) but every other year you have to have a vehicle safety inspection & an emissions test. I have no doubt that my car will be fine…but I am holding my breath about Joe’s. That car has been a thorn in our sides since the year we purchased it. Now it has learned this fancy new trick where the rear passenger side window slides down…by it’s self & will not go up. Oh it’s lovely. You have to pull it up with your hands, I think the motor for the window died.

Last Friday I was trying to be a sweet wife & wash Joe’s car for him. So I pull over in the parking lot right before I pull into the car wash, I hop out, pull up the window (it has slipped about 3/4 of an inch). I assumed that I would be fine in the car wash. Umm, I was wrong. Really wrong. About half way through the wash the window started slipping. It ended up sliding half way down. I literally was looking around for hidden cameras. It was like an episode of I Love Lucy. I’m scrambling to try to get the window up, but I’m getting pretty wet & the window was so wet that it wouldn’t stay up. Oh, and it just got better when the car went through the huge fan driers. It was like a tornado in the car. At that point, I just gave up, crawled back into the drivers seat & headed home.

And ya want to know the best part? 3 days laster we have a lovely snow, ice combo so now his car is filthy again. I think he can wash his own car this time.

11 Responses to “Car Wash Fiasco”

  1. Lynette3boys Says:

    How hilarious! This was too funny!

  2. jamie Says:

    Wow, Kelli. That’s nuts. (I wish there had been hidden cameras…)

  3. jmlange13 Says:

    It’s a shame those power doors are so costly to fix. How do you ever get brave enough to drive it when there is a forecast of rain??

  4. Nicole Says:

    it’s the thought that counts, right?

  5. Casey Says:

    Couldn’t help but laugh! I could picture you in the back seat trying to get the window to stay up. I too wish there had been a hidden camera! I try to leave very few things for Bill to do, but car washing is one of duties! I assume it will be Joe’s too.

  6. Amanda Says:

    We just got rid of our car that had a window –actually two– like that. Our front windows were broken so it was impossible to roll down the window to do everyday stuff like go to the ATM, put letters in the mail, go through the drive thru, pay for parking at the garage (you get the idea) unless you wanted to wait a good hour to put the window back up. It would only go up about a 1/4 inch every few minutes. Torture! I feel your pain. Hope the car dried out!

  7. Lauren E. Says:

    I’m assuming Elle wasn’t in the backseat? 🙂

  8. Butch(Dad) Says:

    Hey Lucy!!! If you would have gotten that on video you would be rich now!!!

  9. kellimcgill Says:

    um, good point. no, Elle was not in the backseat. which is part of the reason i was trying to be so nice to Joe. he had her all day while i was at work.

  10. Denise Says:

    You are right, this DOES sound exactly like an I Love Lucy episode.

  11. Scrubba Dub Dub « Kellogues Says:

    […] brave & decided to teach Elle how to take a shower. Maybe I was feeling invincible after the car wash fiasco. I got drenched because I was still needing to do the actual scrubbing but she loved every second […]

Leave a Reply

