Baby Thoughts

by

Ok, so obviously I have been thinking a lot about this pregnancy, this baby, and how it will change everything. When I think back 3 years when I was pregnant with Elle…I don’t remember having any of these thoughts that I’m having now. I’m pretty sure that I was just so excited and maybe a little naive that I didn’t know what to think.

2 kids. The thought still kinda freaks me out. Please don’t get me wrong, we are extremely excited to welcome this baby to our family. In fact, this pregnancy was planned. But once it finally happened, it kinda freaked me out. With 1 kid I feel like I can kinda handle things. I need to go somewhere, Elle goes a long with me. Joe is gone for a week with the band, no big deal I can easily juggle a toddler on my own. But 2…that could be a whole different story. Last week I was at Target & there was this lady there with her 2 kids. I would say the kid were probably 5 & 7. She had zero control over them. They were all over the place. I wanted to cry for this poor mom but then it hit me. I could be staring at my future. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not blogging this because I want you all to leave comments saying that I’m not that mom. That I’ll have better control over my kids. Please don’t say that…because let’s face it…we ALL have those moments. Hey, I do occasionally have those moments with only 1 kid. It was just one of those reality moments when I realized that my life is going to be changing very soon. It has been very encouraging to read blogs of moms with more than one child. They manage to make it through every day. Sometimes that is all you can ask for, right?

Physically, I’m feeling pretty good. I couldn’t have said that a month or two ago. It seems like I have struggled a lot more with morning sickness this pregnancy. Or maybe I’m just blocking how I felt last time. Oh and then there is the exhaustion. I had about a month where I had zero energy. Of course that month was exactly the same time that my parents were here. My mom either knew that I was pregnant (and didn’t say a word) or thinks that I am the laziest person on earth. She literally watched Elle, did our laundry, and cleaned the house while I sat on the couch. It probably would have been fair if I had told her the news…but I didn’t. My OB said that it is common for women to feel a lot more tired with a 2nd pregnancy. Mostly because they have a lot more that they have to do since they already have a child at home. That made me feel better.

Currently, I’m in that lovely awkward stage where I am not showing enough to be wearing maternity clothes (which I’m more than fine with), but my regular clothes are looking a bit…snug. My pants haven’t buttoned for weeks. It has been funny to have people tell me that they thought I might be pregnant. Basically a nice way of saying, “yeah, I noticed you’re looking a bit thick around the middle.” A lot of people have told me that.

Ok well, Elle & I are off to the grocery store. Let’s pray that there are no mothers there with multiple children who are behaving poorly. I’m not sure I could handle it right now.

14 Responses to “Baby Thoughts”

  1. Megaen Says:

    Yes, Kelli, you will have those moments at the store where your kids are going crazy. But with discipline and consistancy at home (which I’m sure you will have) they will be few and far between. How you handle those times is more important than the fact that they will come. And you will handle them fine. Yes, maybe your hair will not be as perfect coming out of the store as it was going in, but you will still love your darlings, and they will love their Mommy. At the end of the day, that’s all that matters. It’s amazing how patience and the ability to handle things grows with each child!! Plus, now they make harnesses for kids!!! ; )

  2. Heather Says:

    No doubt your life will be busier/crazier with two. But remember all the things you love about babies and toddlers, and that Elle is quickly leaving this stage behind. Now you don’t have to let go of that season of life quite so quickly.

    Besides, it will give you some great blog material. 🙂

  3. Jan Says:

    So my first thought is…. Did you remember to make a LIST for this grocery trip? 😀

    Seriously, making lists will be something to help keep you sane when you are outnumbered by little people during the day.

  4. kellimcgill Says:

    I actually did make a list for the grocery store. Nicole reminded me to on the phone this morning 🙂

  5. Nicole Says:

    I highly suggest list making. It’s a life saver.

    I’m going to go ahead and say it – you’re not that mom. Yes, we all have moments, but as commenter #1 said, with consistency, that’s not going to be your life.

    And know that if you have to abandon your cart at Target, you won’t be the first mom to have done it…

  6. Kristi Says:

    you’ll lose your mind at some point… i’m quite confident of that…. so you can just ship one (or both) of your darlings to aunt kiki’s for a while…. i’ll get the boogers in line, remember, i’m the mean aunt. =)

  7. sara luke Says:

    I get it. I’m dealing with those thoughts, too. It’s a strange combination of excitement/fear/joy/anxiety that I’m having trouble to put into words.

    Also, I’m on vacation in Florida and never even thought to bring my fat jeans. Because last week my jeans fit fine. And unfortunately, this week they’re tight. Which is going to make the next 1 1/2 weeks uncomfortable. I don’t remember my pants being tight at 11 weeks last time around . . .

  8. sara luke Says:

    Sorry that was a lot about me, but it was meant to be encouraging . . . you’re not alone!

  9. jamie Says:

    I remember when Aiden was a week and a half old Dan was having a band practice in our basement and really needed some folders from the store. So I took the boys and headed to WalMart. It wasn’t until after I got home that it hit me – I went to the store with Will and the new baby! (I still haven’t gone shopping by myself with all 4…) You can do it, Kelli!
    Sorry for all the times you’ve seen me that I’ve probably been “that mom” – do you want me and the clan to steer clear of you for awhile so as not to make you cry? 😉
    While it does, of course, get crazier, it also gets sweeter. One of my favorite things is watching a big brother love on a younger one… it’s beautiful!

  10. Butch(Dad) Says:

    Just remember when you reach that point where you need a break……..
    God created Grandparents who can’t wait to give you a break!!

  11. Robin Says:

    I’m soo glad you don’t live close enough to run in to me and my brood at the store. You’d for sure have a heart attack!

  12. Tammy (mom) Says:

    I love you…. Nay Nay will always have babysitting coupons… You and Joe are amazing parents and have done a fabulous job with Elle. I am so proud of you both. You really will be surprised how two will become as routine as just one. I have full confidence in your ability. … and on those days YOU’re not that confident…. Nay Nay has a cool tent to hide in 🙂

  13. Bella Says:

    good thing you have a babysitter 15 minutes away with a serious lack of a social life.

  14. Tanya Says:

    I haven’t been on your blog in awhile, so I am catching up. Life with 4 keeps me off the computer more than on!

    You look really cute in your 14 week pic, I took a similar pic of myself at 14 weeks when I was pregnant with Brooke. I remember feeling pudgy and not pregnant. Yoga pants were and still are my best friend!
    I was working real estate back then and wished I could get away with wearing them to work, didn’t happen but a girl can dream. The unbuttoned blue jeans are so uncomfortable, hated it!

    All of the feelings you are having are completely normal. Hannah was a shocker pregnancy so that made it more challenging for me to wrap my mind around. What I know for sure; you do what you have to and just one step at a time.

    I am so happy for you and Joe, congrats.

Leave a Reply

