Kelli vs. Pancakes

by

About 3 weeks ago we had an unfortunate pancake incident. It had been a long day & a simple meal was on the menu. Joe had had a particulary rough day & was venting about things. I was a bit distracted with listening to him while working on dinner & forgot the plug in the skillet. I poured all the pancakes on the skillet before I noticed that it was cold. So, they didn’t cook evenly & kinda super glued themselves to the skillet. Joe ended up going to Little Ceasars & getting a $5 ready to go pizza. I was frustrated with myself but hey, you can’t win every time. Right?

Tonight I thought we’d try pancakes again. Everything went off without a hitch. As we were eating Elle said, “You didn’t break the pancakes this time, Mom. Good job!” And nodded her head at me as if she were really proud of me.

So. Tell me. How does she remember that happening 3 weeks ago…but I have to remind her to wipe her butt every time she goes to the bathroom?

10 Responses to “Kelli vs. Pancakes”

  1. Teresa Says:

    I’m a longtime lurker – found your blog through your dad’s, which I found through mamalogues. I love following Elle’s antics – what a cutie! Makes me miss my grandchildren though…

    Anyway, I have to tell you…the “selective memory” thing only gets worse. Wait till she’s a teenager.

  2. Butch(Dad) Says:

    TMI Kelli!

  3. kellimcgill Says:

    Teresa: Thanks for de-lurking! It’s been fun to see how many people have found me via my dad at mamalogues!! Keep the comments coming 🙂

  4. mcgilla Says:

    she’s just trying to encourage you… like the time i made pancakes and she said, Kiki, these pancakes taste just like pancakes! give the girl a break…. the ability to consistently clean her own bottom without a reminder won’t be necessary until she goes to school. =)

  5. Nicole Says:

    haha! good question, though….

    and nice job on the pancakes! that’s what we had for dinner tonight, too.

  6. Brad Says:

    Why should anyone be surprised that pancakes would carry a higher priority by anyone – at Elle’s age or even mine?!

  7. Ron Says:

    Blood lines, Kelli. It’s all about the blood lines.

  8. Ron Says:

    PS … Did you know that IHop declared this “national pancake day?” You have served not only your family … but your country!

  9. swoodsy Says:

    You missed out on FREE PANCAKES!!!! at Ihop. Shame, Shame!!!

    Amanda had to remind me to wipe my butt too…she got the from her uncle.

  10. Earth Muffin Says:

    Because Mom breaking pancakes is far more interesting and earth-shattering to her little world that wiping her silly old butt!

Leave a Reply

