Change of Plans

by

Let me start this post off by posting this disclaimer: Don’t feel sorry for me, I made this choice completely by myself. This isn’t intended to be a “pitty post”.

As you all know, Joe had an emergency appendectomy on Wednesday. Emergency surgery on my husband isn’t something that I am accustomed to (routine surgery or not). I wasn’t expecting when we walked into the ER at 4, to be watching him wheeled into surgery at 6:30. I think I handled it pretty well, no major emotion break downs. Anyway, back to my point, I was scheduled to go out of town this weekend. Funny right? Joe travels weekend after weekend & I’m here holding down the fort. Months ago I planned a girls weekend with my good friend, Nicole, for this very weekend. Sigh. Joe has been telling me to still go on the trip, but really? Really? Right now, Joe & Elle are my priority & there is no way that I could relax leaving them. I mean, he has 3 holes in his stomach, a 10 lbs lifting limit, and a bottle full of vicodin.

So anyway, I’m enjoying a weekend at home with my boy & my girl. Elle has been extra lovely & cuddly. That kinda makes it a little easier. Plus, I plan on spending a good amount of time harassing Joe about his timing with health emergencies. Like the time that I was in labor with Elle & he decided to that it was appropriate timing to acquire & pass kidney stones (yes, kinda like Uncle Jesse did on Full House when Becky went into labor).

7 Responses to “Change of Plans”

  1. Jan Says:

    I guess this is just part of being a grown up, huh? 🙂 I’ll pray that you all have a beautiful time just hanging out with each other.

    And yes, you are definitely right ignoring Joe’s statement that you could still go. He needs someone there with him for a couple of days.

  2. joe Says:

    If you leave now you can still get there. I’m feeling much better.

  3. sara luke Says:

    That happened to Joey when Phoebe when she was in labor too (Friends) . . . just FYI.

    Sorry to hear about your weekend, but hopefully you’ll be able to make it up!

  4. Nicole Says:

    I definitely missed you this weekend:) Next year, ok? And Joe, you are not allowed to have any internal organs malfunction at the same time.

  5. Val Says:

    I thought of you guys this weekend. I hope Joe is feeling much better. I know what it’s like to watch your husband leave over and over again while you stay back and hold down the fort. And I know what it’s like to choose to stay there with him because you just love him and wouldn’t even think of doing otherwise.

  6. Hearts at Home « Here’s the Diehl Says:

    […] I was supposed to spend the weekend with my friend Kelli, but her husband Joe’s emergency appendectomy kept her home…I definitely missed having […]

  7. Words. « Here’s the Diehl Says:

    […] Last weekend, I attended the Hearts at Home conference for the second year in a row. Thankfully, no one had to go under the knife, and Kelli and I were able to go together this time, making it lots more fun than last year – […]

Leave a Reply

