THE Conversation

by

Yesterday it happened.  It was a conversation that I knew would eventually have to take place…but I, honestly, was hoping Elle would be about 24 when it happened.

For some time now Elle has known the connection between food that we eat and how it eventually becomes waste.  I have no idea who taught her this, but I am blaming either my father or my brothers.  It’s the only logical option.  And obviously we talk quite a bit about how mommy has a baby in her tummy.  Do you know where this is going?

Last night we were in the mall parking garage & I was getting her out of her car seat when she looks at my with the most quizzical look on her face & says,  “So, did you eat a baby & just not poop it out yet?”  Um, how do you respond to that?  I was dying, it was so hard not to burst out laughing.

I told her that is not how it works & that we could talk about it later.  Ugh.  Let’s hope that later is in 21 years.

12 Responses to “THE Conversation”

  1. Jan Says:

    Parking garage or no parking garage I would have been rolling on the ground grabbing my abs and laughing until mall security had to show up with the guys that bring the nice white jumpsuits.

    She’s going to give you a run for your ever loving mommy money, Kelli.

    And she’ll ask you again in way less than 21 years, I’ll bet.

  2. myhereandnow Says:

    That is SO FUNNY. Elle is such an awesome little girl. I love to see how her mind works!!!

  3. Nicole Says:

    NICE! I love that some thought went into the question…you know she had to be pondering that for a couple of minutes before she actually asked you! I was able to get away with “God thought it was time for us to have another baby” with the boys when I was pregnant with Jack Henry.

  4. kristi Says:

    I told her to ask you that.

  5. sara luke Says:

    I would have been all like, “Um, yep.”

    That’s so funny!

  6. Ron Says:

    I’m betting on Kristi and I am TOTALLY DENYING having anything to do with this. I-n-n-o-c-e-n-t.

    Kelli, you need to stay out of mall parking lots. You got engaged in one … which ultimately led to this pregnancy. Connect the dots, my dear. 🙂

  7. Nicole Says:

    Wait…you got engaged in a mall parking lot? Obviously, I haven’t heard this story.

  8. Lauren E. Says:

    Time for the engagement story!

  9. Tammy (mom) Says:

    LOL…. I love my granddaughter….

  10. Megaen Says:

    Yes, I agree with your father…some of your biggest life moments have happened in the mall parking garage!!! You should start a scrapbook for all the garage memories…

  11. swoodsy Says:

    scenario #8:
    You actually poop out a baby…what do you do?

  12. The One Where Kelli Was Speachless « Kellogues Says:

    […] One Where Kelli Was Speachless By kellimcgill Remember that question that Elle asked a few weeks ago…the one where she was trying to figure out how I got […]

Leave a Reply

