Your Choice: Our Engagement Story

by

Alright, I decided that out of all the suggestions our engagement story would be the most interesting blog & ironically I just realized that today is the 7 year anniversary of when this story took place!  It’s a sign, a sign that I should blog this story.

It was spring 2002.  Joe & I had been dating for just over 3 years.  We were getting to that point that a lot of couples do in that time of life.  I was on the verge of graduating (he still had one year left, yup, I robbed the cradle) & the “now what” question was arising.  It was quickly followed by the “how we gonna pull it off” question.  Anyway, after many conversations we decided that we would get married the following winter (leaving Joe with one semester of school remaining & I was planning on bringing home the bacon).  So we had kinda set an unofficial date & it remained quiet until Joe was ready to officially pop the question.  He now had the difficult job of making it a surprise while I was working my hardest to read into every move he made.  That’s a normal girl thing, right?

Joe’s original plan was to ask my dad’s permission on a Friday evening while I was at work (at Bath & Body Works) then that same evening he was ask me to marry him while we were relaxing the hammock in my parent’s backyard.  Sound nice, right?  Well, he talked to my dad & easily got his blessing…but that’s when the night kinda got complicated.  I called my dad as I was leaving to mall because I had left the headlights on my car on thus draining the battery.  Joe, my dad & my brother drove out to rescue me…and I was pretty crabby.  Not only had it been a rough day at work but I was frustrated with myself for leaving the lights on…and on top of that the boys had to jump my car in the pouring rain.  Pouring.  Not really a good combination for asking someone to marry you in a hammock.

So, the next day Joe was really feeling the pressure to pop the question.  We were going to a party that night & he wanted me to have the ring by then to be able to show my friends.  Plus, he had then worked it out that my parents would all show up at the party.  I had to work again that day until until nearly party time.

Joe came to pick me up pretty quickly after I had arrived home.  He thought we could swing by Bobby’s Frozen Custard (one of our favorite date places) on the way to the party & he would ask there.  But I really wanted to go to the mall on our way to the party.  Typical, right?  I wasn’t making things easy on him.  Joe thought, ok…mall it is.  Maybe it wouldn’t be too bad, I mean we did go to the mall on our first date.  His plan at that point was to finally ask at dinner, but dinner ended up being in a crazy crowded Bread Co.  Not exactly what he had in mind.  Finally he had no other option, poor guy.  So as we were getting into his car in the parking garage (heading to the party) he opened my door and asked me to get his checkbook out of his coat pocket (which he had just placed in the back seat).  As I was reaching into the back seat to get it, he ran around to his seat and hopped into the car just in time for me to pull a ring box out of his pocket.  It totally freaked me out!  And, for some reason, I threw the box at him…kinda like I had just grabbed something hot.  I don’t know, it was an odd reaction.  And to make it even more awkward, he had to fish around on the floor to find it.  Nice.

Anyway, he asked me to be his wife.  And I said yes.  We went to the party, where we were able to share our news with friends and family.  Lots of planning and 8 months later we were married.

So that’s our story.  It isn’t the most romantic, but I love it.  It fits us.  We aren’t exactly romantic people, but we fit each other.

9 Responses to “Your Choice: Our Engagement Story”

  1. Ron Says:

    I remember it as though it were yesterday. Two people … so in love. It was wonderful to watch you guys. “Giving you away” was such an honor because I could see the match God had made in the two of you. Having said that … a parking garage? C’mon! 🙂

    Love you for ever … like you for always,
    dad

  2. sara Says:

    I LOVE IT! I think it’s great when people have those elaborately planned out engagement stories, but that’s not really me either. I think the low key stories are fantastic! Especially when there’s a little awkwardness thrown in there . . . that makes it even better!

    And I too love Bobby’s. Only two months, 7 days until I’m down there again . . . not that I’m counting down the days or anything.

  3. Julie Says:

    Good thing he didn’t ask you anywhere that as you threw the ring it would have been lost forever. That would have been a major bummer.

  4. Tammy (mom) Says:

    heard the story a million times, and still laughed out loud today at the visual…. God has blessed all of us by putting you two together…. that story rates right up there with your unity candle…. stupid wicks… love you both with all my heart. Kel, I am blessed because you are in my life… could have never asked for a better bride for my son… thanks for just being you…

  5. jamie Says:

    So fun! Thanks for sharing this 🙂

  6. Casey Says:

    I love reading your family’s responses. They are so sweet! Usually have tears in my eyes (with that said, I do cry pretty easily). Great story. Mine is similar- driveway proposal 😉 Regardless, he asked, you said yes and life has been great. Thanks for sharing.

  7. Scott Says:

    heard this one before…LAME! Tell us your opinion on the Israel and Palestine conflict.

  8. Maureen Says:

    I LOVE engagement stories! My best friend was proposed to in the McDonald’s drive-thru b/c she just didn’t feel like going to the nice place he had picked out… Sometimes the engagements that ‘just happen’ are the best of them all!

  9. Nicole Says:

    yea! you picked my question!

    great story. all of the glitches make it memorable!

Leave a Reply

