Ikea or Bust

by

28 hours. That’s how long I was away from home this weekend. Laura & I took a quick road trip up to Chicago to fill up my parent’s trailblazer with lots and lots of items (big items) from Ikea. Oh, Ikea. You get me.

First of all, I would drive those 5 hours up there for just a few days in the Chicago area. I love it up there. Chicago is in my families blood. Plus, once we get up there we do nothing but eat. I’m pretty nervous about my next OB appointment because my doctor may not be too happy about my weight gain, which will be completely blamed on this weekend. Anyway, when you add Ikea to the equation of Chicago I am one happy girl. It was a huge bonus to be able to visit with my brother and his wife (Scott & Amanda) for a bit too.

I came home with a bed (for Elle (in black, not white)), a mattress (for the bed), a shelf (for Paisley), plus a couple smaller things (nothing too special) and a few items for a friend (who just started blogging, go visit her…she’s babysitting Elle this summer). Oh and add Laura’s purchases, and we have one packed out car.

Tomorrow will be a fun filled evening of putting all the furniture together (gotta love Ikea). Joe & I have always said that we will officially be adults when we start purchasing furniture that we don’t have to assemble ourselves. I guess we’re still just kids.

8 Responses to “Ikea or Bust”

  1. Nicole Says:

    pretty sure we won’t ever officially be adults.

    loving that shelf!

    happy assembling.

  2. Bella Says:

    as long as ikea is making furniture that i love, i’ll keep building it until the day i die πŸ™‚

  3. Stacy Says:

    I love IKEA! I have never thought of just taking a roadtrip to stock my vehicle full. I love the way you operate. πŸ™‚

  4. Robin Says:

    LOVE Chicago!! I’m glad your travels were safe and fun! Thanks for the sticks! πŸ˜‰

  5. Maureen Says:

    My jealousy is in full force! I made an ikea trip back in the fall. That was before we made the decision to try for #2 OR that we would move! I could totally re shop for the new house and baby.

    Love Elle’s new bed… good luck putting it all together… Ikea furniture can be a lot of fun : )

  6. tiffanynevil Says:

    I love Ikea too…it’s just a heavenly place. They have free childcare for the kiddos, they have breastfeeding rooms, the bathrooms have little step stools so the kiddos can reach, they have a cafeteria in the store with yummy stuff for mommies and kids at an exceptional price, and bathrooms strewn throughout the store. Did I mention that all their stuff is insanely cute? I love it! Glad you got a chance to escape to Chicago for a fun shopping trip. See…Paisley is getting stuff!

  7. Scott Says:

    they have breast feeding rooms?
    how did I not know this?

  8. Kris West Says:

    I guess I shouldn’t tell you that IKEA is less than a mile from my house. Sometimes, I just go there for the Swedish meatballs. :O) Maybe on your next trip, you can come to Phoenix instead of Chicago. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

