McGill Party of 4

by

Last night was one of my favorite nights as a family of 4 that we have had thus far. After Sunday naps (for Joe & Elle…Paisley wasn’t too keen on napping), Joe mowed the lawn, then we took off for dinner at Steak N Shake. First of all, I haven’t had Steak N Shake for years (we had a gift certificate). Man, was it good, greasy but good.

Now on to my point. It was odd how much we felt like a family. Now, I know we’ve been a family since Joe & I married 6+ years ago but it felt official last night. Until now we were just Joe & Kelli who happened to have a kid that we took care of. But now with 2 it officially feels like a family. I had this weird sort of out of body experience where I was able to look at our us sitting there & see a nice young growing family. It was kinda cool. From the outside looking in, we were a husband and wife with a bubbly 3 year old & an adorable newborn. We filled up an entire booth, for crying out loud!

Anyway, I’m sure you all knew I had a family of my own…but I just really figured it out last night. Hopefully my babbling was understandable.

5 Responses to “McGill Party of 4”

  1. Robin Says:

    I know exactly what you mean! I even now, after 11 years of marriage don’t always feel like what I have is “real”.

  2. Maureen Says:

    I know exactly what you are talking about. I have had those moments too where I realize that Kevin and I are actually MARRIED and have A CHILD and that we are about to have our SECOND ONE! Life is crazy!

  3. tiffanynevil Says:

    Aren’t those moments so wonderful? Glad you enjoyed your out of body experience!

  4. Butch Says:

    I am glad you had your moment!

  5. Perspective « Here’s the Diehl Says:

    […] Kelli recently blogged about being in a restaurant and realizing, wow, we’re a family now. As we sat around a restaurant table last night, I couldn’t help but think of the same thing…this is really my family! And how far we’ve come in ten years’ time, and how thankful I am for these boys. Even if one of them did wake me at 2:45 this morning to get him a kleenex that was literally 18 inches from his face (Bennett), and another woke me at 5:15 with his worst bloody nose ever (and first in a long time), creating massive amounts of laundry (Luke). Oh well. I’ll sleep when they’re grown. […]

Leave a Reply

