Six

by

Six, it’s a good number right? Not too big, but not too small. Nice middle of the road number. Well, six is the number of bags that we need in order to get out the door in the mornings. Seems like a lot larger number now, doesn’t it! Ugh. Babies require so much stuff. There is the diaper bag, the thermal bag for breastmilk (sorry*), elle’s backpack, elle’s lunchbox, bag for my breastpump (sorry again*), and my purse, plus occasionally I’ll have a bag with lunches for myself & Joe. It’s quite ridiculous. Every evening before heading off to bed I spend a solid 30 minutes getting everything ready & lined up on the kitchen table to make the morning routine a tad easier. Then in the mornings I make about 4 separate trips to the Jeep to load up. A trip with each girl, a trip for the bags & then at least one trip to get something that I forgot (or to find my keys which are hiding in my purse %99 of the time).

Ok, I gotta head to bed…I just remembered that I have a lot to do in the morning.

*I’ve tried really hard not to talk about breastfeeding on here…but I didn’t know how to avoid it this time. Sorry Dad!~ Sidenote: anytime I want to make my dad really uncomfortable I just say the word “period”!

9 Responses to “Six”

  1. Nicole Says:

    yeah, that’s a lot of stuff.

    cracking up at you making your dad uncomfortable, though 🙂

  2. Jan Says:

    Yep, I had to laugh at the list of words that make your dad uncomfortable. 😀

    And, yeah, airlines would charge you extra for bringing that much stuff and you have to do it every day! Bummer!

  3. Jeff your Uncle Says:

    Funny… :).

  4. Ron Says:

    NO FAIR! I was tooootally unprepared for that! Now I need another shower … a brain shower.

  5. Earth Muffin Says:

    Oh, do I recall those days. Pumping is a wonderful thing for working moms, but the accessories…oh, the accessories!!! One of these days you’ll only need to worry about your purse, I promise that day will come.

  6. Earth Muffin Says:

    Oh yeah, and once I ran into your dad at Target and all I was buying was tampons and as he approached me, I thought to myself, “Ok, he’s going to be REALLY uncomfortable if he sees what I’m carrying, so I’ll just tuck them under my arm.” He walked right up to me and said, “So, what are you here for tonight, Val?” Then he saw what it was and just walked away without saying another word.

    Good times.

  7. Robin Says:

    At least you get rid of at least 3 bags by the time you hit our street 🙂

    Tampon works for my dad.

  8. tiffanynevil Says:

    In that case, you MUST see this Saturday night live skit…give it a minute to get going ….http://www.hulu.com/watch/101512/saturday-night-live-ladies-billards

    That’s a lot of bags. And Kelli, um, been there! I used to have to pump in my office at lunch time. I would tape a piece of paper over my window so that I could do that and I would cue Jo Moore so that she could be sure to let people…mostly pastors..know that they really shouldn’t try to talk to me at that moment.

    Then Ed Harris came to work at the church. He he he he he…um both he and Kevin Hughes (on more than one occasion) knocked on my office door while I was in there doing my thang.
    I will never forget Ed saying, “Tiffany? Are you in there? What are you DOING?” HA HA HA HA HA HA HA! I’m pretty sure Jo Moore and I died with laughter and told Ed he REALLY didn’t want to know. Needless to say that Jo Moore reported he turned about 20 shades of red. And you know what THAT looks like! HA!

    And then there was the milk in the fridge….ahhhh…that was good times.

Leave a Reply

