ERs, CTs & EEGs Oh My!

by

Yesterday was one of those days that went a completely different direction than expected.  At 6:30 last night I wearing a super heavy smock & holding Elle’s hand while she was getting a CT scan thinking to myself, “Hmm, I didn’t think I’d be doing this today.  Hmm, I should be more freaked out right now.”

Yesterday Elle fell off the swing at Ms Laurie’s house.  She ended up blacking out for a few seconds, had some tremors in her arms & legs & wet her pants.  By the time I got to Laurie’s, Elle was acting completely fine but when she wanted to sleep in the car as we were leaving I thought that I should at least call her doctor.  (Btw, I LOVE our pediatrician.  If you ever need a good one, shoot me a message.)  The doctor wanted us to keep her awake & take her to the ER just to be safe.

We got in pretty quickly!  I was prepared for swine flu central, but it wasn’t too bad.  Anyway long story short, she had a CT scan just to be safe.  She was such a trooper with the scan.  She acted a bit nervous but not a tear or panic moment.  Plus I was SHOCKED at how still she held her little head.  It was wonderful that I got to hold her hand throught the whole thing.  It may  have been a different story if I handn’t.

Everything on the scan came back normal.  The think that she had a “breath holding spell”.  Basically young kids get so scared or cry so hard that they black out momentarily.  Many times they will have some shaking while they are out.  The one thing that threw the doc for a loop was that she had wet her pants (which is a very seizure like thing).

After talking to the pediatrician today, we have scheduled an appointment with a neurologist for next week.  She’s concerned with it really being a breath holding spell because she has never done anything like this before.  Typically a child has a history of doing this & Elle hasn’t ever.  They’ll do an EEG.  I’m sure that will be interesting.  They want to do an awake EEG & an asleep EEG.  The night before I have to put her to bed 2 hours after normal bedtime & then wake her up 2 hours earlier than normal.  Great, nothing like a 4:30 wake up call!  She’ll be tired alright, she’ll also be in a lovely mood.

So we thought we had answers, but we are still playing a bit of a waiting game.  Thankfully Elle is acting completely normal so that really puts my mind at ease.  I’ll keep you all updated, but say a pray for her (& her mom).

IMG_0567

This is a completely unrelated pic, but I thought the pitiful face was fitting!

14 Responses to “ERs, CTs & EEGs Oh My!”

  1. Jan Says:

    Precious girl! I’ll be praying for her and for you!

    Very cool that they let you stay with her through the CT scan.

  2. Ron Says:

    oh the curve balls of life. Just say the word if you need any help.

  3. Val Says:

    I’m praying for Elle, and for you!!! Poor pumpkin.

  4. Julie Says:

    Sounds like an interesting night in the Kellogue house!!! Praying for you.

    I am actually looking for a new pediatrician right now. I have been to two different ones, becuase they came recommended but they end up being old men:( I would love to get on with someone that is a little younger and more attentative to Kaylee. This last guy didn’t even look in her ears at all and just assumed they were ok. IF you get a chance, shoot me the name. I will look into it. I have one other person I may go with also but would love the recommedation:)

  5. Dad (Butch Says:

    We are only a call away if you need anything…BTW…Love the picture!

  6. Brad Says:

    The Lord obviously provided you both with the tools necessary to handle that experience – we should not be surprised!

    You can tell Miss Elle that, during the past 2 years, I have had 3 MRI’s, 3 CT scans, a PET scan, an EEG, and several neurologist visits – and that none of them have robbed me of my normal oddities or my ability to have fun!

    Will be saying lots of prayers for each of you!

  7. Katie Says:

    Oh my gosh, Kel!!! We’ll be praying for her for sure!

  8. Nicole Says:

    I’m so glad everything is ok…and I’ll be praying that the neurologist says the same thing.

  9. illinigirl Says:

    Poor Elle and poor parents. 😦 I’m throwing my prayers in the bunch!

  10. Robin Says:

    I’m glad they got you in and out so quickly. Praying that everything continues to look good through the rest of her tests! Have I told you I’m getting new insurances?! I’m coming to your docs FINALLY!

  11. Elisa Says:

    Hope everything turns out ok! Poor little Elle! Keep me updated! Praying for you guys!

  12. Jeff your Uncle Says:

    I will pray hard… 😦 Me too Elle 😦 Me too!

  13. Kelli Says:

    I’m glad she’s acting fine – but it’s still a scary thing, I’m sure. I’d be terrified of the 4:30 wake up just as much as the test I think! Praying it all turns out okay.

    Oh – and Annie is a hair goddess…

    She told me to say that. But she really is very good! 🙂

  14. Good News! « Kellogues Says:

    […] By kellimcgill Today was the big day for Elle.  Remember this?  Well we put her to bed at 10 last night & I woke her up at 4:15.  She was fabulous. […]

Leave a Reply

