Change

by

Change.  Change.  Change. Change.  Change.  No matter how many times I say it, change makes me nervous.  We’ve had some significant changes in our family over the past couple weeks.  Changes that have been hard to swallow, but changes that will eventually feel normal.  Right now these changes just feel weird.

Joe is no longer playing with Fundamental Elements.  It’s a long story, I won’t go into it all here on the ol’blog.  But we are really looking forward to seeing how God continues to work in our lives despite all of this.  FE has been such a huge part of our lives and dreams that it is still uncomfortable to think about this chapter ending.

One part that does really excite me is that  Joe will be around more often (at least for the time being).  Sure there were a few perks of having him on the road (like being able to sleep in the middle of the bed & not feeling like I need to shave my legs when he’s gone) but the thought of having him present is so appealing.  Elle was 8 months old when he joined FE so I don’t think that we even know what our little family looks like without that element (no pun intended).  Right now it feels like we’re going through a bit of puberty.  We are trying to figure out who we are, what we want to do, and everything just feels awkward.  I know that time will fix a lot of that & God has an amazing plan for us.  In fact, we’ve already seen His hand moving a little & we definitely feel His peace. We can be a “normal” family with 2 present parents & 2 children!  I am beyond excited that he will be able to be more available for the girls.

As we have started telling our family & close friends, one question that comes up in nearly every conversation is “what now?”  Well, we don’t know exactly.  Joe was definitely created to be a musician & song writer so that is what he is going to continue to pursue.  He isn’t jumping into anything too quickly.  But one thing that we have learned in our marriage is that if Joe isn’t doing the whole musician thing, we both are miserable.  A musician who isn’t creating music is a miserable person.  So trust me, we are avoiding that!

So even though we have a bit of a void in our lives right now, we are excited to see what God is doing. No matter how hard it is to look at some really close friends & realistically know that you won’t be as close to them in the future, we have hope His plan is better than ours.  Sure, we have to remind ourselves of this several times a day, but we know it’s true.

I have been avoiding this post.  For some reason, it all feels so much more real to have this on the internet.  Ok…so…I’m going to quickly hit “publish”.  Quick, like a band-aid!

17 Responses to “Change”

  1. Amanda Mohr Says:

    As we have talked about already…WE ALREADY MISS JOE!!! But I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that GOD is going to do some INCREDIBLE things in and through you and Joe.

    Just remember your ARKANSAS FAMILY!!!

    Love you guys!!!

  2. Jan Says:

    But isn’t it nice to know that even when we can’t see what comes next, God already knows and has it all planned out because He loves us.

    I’ll pray for you guys.

  3. tiffanynevil Says:

    Sad! But, it is so nice to have the hubbs around. We’ll be praying as you guys wrestle with God over the calling He has for you individually and as a family. Love you guys!
    Tiff for the Nevil Crew

  4. Robin Says:

    I know the feeling of getting to be a “normal” family. We felt that when Matt switched to day shift. How nice its is to live life with help, well most of the time 😉 We’re praying for you and Joe as you tackle this new chapter. I’m excited to see what God does. I’m certain it will be amazing!

  5. jimmah Says:

    I’m so glad that you hit publish! It is nice to have this public.

    You guys have no idea how excited I am about watching Joe craft his art in his way when the time comes. Just as he is happier when he is active with music, he will be that much happier when it is his.

    FNGW reunion tour???

  6. Lerryn Says:

    Understandable about the holding off blogging thing. I haven’t attempted to write for two weeks plus either… putting it out there seems like it would make it worse. I’m praying for you guys! There are better things ahead. Breakups suck. That piece of wisdom from Joe. This also means there is something even better waiting for you in the future! I’m so excited to see what He brings you guys!

  7. Katie Says:

    Love you, Kel!

  8. James Barnard Says:

    Joe, Kelli & Family,

    I hve resisted change all my life, but when I think about it, change has taken us from the Biplane to the Dreamliner. Maybe it isn’t all bad. We look forward to your blog, everytime you post. We love you.

    Granpa and Grandma Sandy

  9. Erika Kleine Says:

    God Bless You McGills. Change is hard..but it always makes for the most amazing blog posts later on. Can’t wait to see where you are led.

  10. beingmade Says:

    Praying for you guys. I pray that God will guard your hearts in the change, and I pray that this new season will bring light and goodness to all of you.

  11. Megaen Says:

    I am praying. I love you guys!

  12. Sara Says:

    “Tough stuff” often has a way of becoming “good stuff.” Praying for you guys. I hope you get some clear answers from Him soon!

  13. Nicole Says:

    Um, just realized I forgot to comment on this yesterday…sorry!

    I know this was hard to write, but I’m so glad you did! We’re praying for your family as you adjust to more time together and Joe figures out what’s best for him. Good things are going to come from this, I just know it!

  14. Scott Says:

    Grandpa has a plane?

  15. Kelli Says:

    I too hate change. Ugh – it’s so hard. Yet so often, when I look back in time, the transitions were the times when God was most apparent, most evident and I was most shaped. We will pray for you guys as well, particularly for Joe as he wrestles with what’s next music wise. Oh how I know the longing in the soul of a musician that just needs to use the gift God has given them. It’s a feeling that is all too familiar and that I wrestle with myself. Praying God’s guidance over you guys. Thanks for sharing!

  16. Heather Says:

    You guys will never be “normal.” You’re all far to special for that. 🙂

  17. jamie Says:

    Amen to the whole musicians need to be making music thing, since I’m married to one of those kinda guys, too. Hurrah for you guys being willing to take this step, even though its hard – just like you were willing to take the step when Joe joined FE even though that meant big changes and sacrifices for your family, too. Dan and I are praying for God’s leading and using your family with the gifts He’s given you and the people He’s making you to be!

Leave a Reply

