Get Your Craft On

by

Anyone feeling the need to be crafty lately?  I’ve been itching to get my craft on.  You all should see the list of projects that I’m hoping to tackle this summer.  Whew.  I’m both tired & poor just thinking about it.  The Home Depot had better stock up on paint.

Here are some crafty things that I’m loving on.

This is a fabulous resource for all things printable.  Oh & the party ideas make me drool.

She makes me wish that I had an unlimited stash of fabrics…and a sewing machine that wasn’t made in 1975 (I’m taking retro to a whole new level, folks).

I spotted these a little before Mother’s Day & haven’t been able to stop thinking about them since.

Ready for a secret?  I’m a closet lover of office supplies.  The line in You’ve Got Mail that talks about a “bouquet of sharpened pencils” gets me every time.  So you can imagine how I felt when I stumbled about these babies.

Recently I jumped on the meal planning band-wagon.  I was a perpetual “What in the world should I make for dinner tonight?  McDonalds it is!” person, but the tides have changed.  This has been a HUGE help.  Huge I tell you.  Just ask Joe, he’s been pretty proud of me.

This blog isn’t a craft one…but I’ve recently started reading it religiously. What an amazing mom with an even more amazing little girl.

And just for good measure I thought I’d show ya’ll (I’m feeling like a southern belle tonight) my latest crafty project.  For mother’s day I went and picked up several cylinder vases, some dried reeds, & a bit of ribbon.

Here’s the dried reed stuff.  I don’t know what it is technically called, but I like my name.  They were SUPER long & the bunch came with both green & white.  I used our clippers (again, I’m bad with technical names) to cut them down to size.  I didn’t want them all perfectly the same length.  They all varied within half an inch of each other.

On each vase I put 2 rubber band & simply slid the clipped reed between both bands & the vase.  I did this about a zillion times, placing them as close together as possible & varying the colors randomly.  Just keep going until the vase is completely covered with reeds.

Then just simply tie the ribbon around your rubber bands to cover them up.  You’re done!  Well, I’d put some flowers in the vase.  In fact, I did put flowers in them before giving them to the moms in our lives but it would have been far to smart of me to take pictures at that point.  You’ll have to trust me, they looked beautiful!

Also, if I ever do this in the future, I WILL TOTALLY be adding some glue under the reeds after they have all been placed. You have to be super careful that the vase doesn’t slide out from under the reeds when you pick them up.  It’s a simple step that would make them MUCH better.

Whew, this turned into a long post.  Hopefully you found something here that inspires you!  Happy Weekending, friends!

7 Responses to “Get Your Craft On”

  1. Lerryn Says:

    You know that not-craft-related blog link? Added it to my blogroll. Very cool!

  2. Robin Says:

    I vote we send the men off camping/fishing for Father’s Day and we stay back and craft! GREAT links!

  3. Tammy Says:

    and I LOVE mine!

  4. Judy Says:

    I love mine, too!

  5. Judy Says:

    I love mine, too!!!

  6. heather Says:

    Great sites! And I’m with you on the office supplies – I have a stock of funky notebooks to prove it.

  7. jen Says:

    kelli, thanks so, so much. and i’d love whatever hand-me-downs you’ll have. it seems perfect that Paisley was an August baby too…
    and in my mind, there’s no such thing as “out of control” when it comes to clothes… 🙂
    i appreciate everything…

    oh and ps: i love checking the updates on your adorable family! the girls couldn’t be cuter!

Leave a Reply

